Interphex New York: Single Use Support is hunting the Cryosaucer!

Single Use Support is hunting the Cryo-Saurus

Over the last few years, “Single Use Support” has been developing BULK.STREAM® – a virtually 100% secure logistics process for fluids in the biopharmaceutical industry. The new innovations will be presented at the Interphex, the leading fair for pharmaceutical and biotech professionals in New York from 2 until 4 April. The focus will be primarily on Freeze Thaw technology as developed by Single Use Support.

Single Use Support has adopted the mission of taking patient safety and efficiency in the pharmaceuticals industry to a new level with its Bulk.Stream®. For this reason, it has developed its own plate-based freezing and defrosting facilities for stability studies and for small to large batch sizes.

RoSS.pFTU blockbuster scale marks another milestone for the biopharmaceutical industry. The Freeze Thaw platform is now during its final stages of development and should replace Cryovessel, which is used for very large batch sizes, as a single-use version.

The aim is both to achieve a higher level of safety in the freezing process and to enable the constant freezing of high quality substances over an even shorter time period.

CEO Johannes Kirchmair explains at Interphex why the advantages of the FREEZE-THAW PLATFORM are so significant.

 

Here you can find the Interphex Conference Schedule.

Single Use Support präsentiert sich auf der Interphex Messe

 

A short overview of all the advantages:

 

  • The freezing and thawing platform from Single User Support brings about a direct input of energy and heat. This means that there is no air in-between, which is poor at transmitting heat.
  • The heat input flows simultaneously from the top and bottom. The ‘Last Point of Freeze’ therefore takes place at the edges of the axis of symmetry. This prevents the containment of a liquid core which can cause the shell to burst open.
  • The Freeze Thaw process is not influenced by a full load or partial filling of the bags or stacking. The process can therefore be better regulated.
  • Improved scalability of the process is also possible due to a constant water column.
  • The plate-based freezing system enables partial filling with a constant water column.
  • Lower shearing forces reduce mechanical stress on the protein.

The Freeze Thaw platform therefore enables constant freezing of biopharmaceutical substances over an even shorter time period.

 

Find out more

 

But what are the advantages of rapid ‘shock freezing’ compared to a longer freezing process?

 

The cooling of substances can trigger changes in the concentration of liquids. During cryo-concentration, the concentration of (buffer) salts and proteins increases as a result of the cooling process. This cryo-concentration effect is significantly reduced by the rapid freezing of substances.

The fast freezing process also reduces the pH shift. This means that the pH value in the solution changes less during a rapid cooling process than during slow freezing.

A faster freezing process prevents the aggregation of proteins. This involves individual proteins joining together to form larger proteins. The structure of the protein changes as a result and loses its effectiveness. Shock freezing significantly reduces this effect.

Proteins are exposed to temperature extremes and therefore stress for a shorter time. This minimises the danger of the protein being destroyed. Stress can be triggered by a change in the pH value, mechanical influences e.g. shaking, a high salt concentration, temperature or chemical reactions. The aim is to keep stresses on the protein to a minimum during freezing and defrosting.

 

Ross.LSSP the Freeze Thaw Platform for large batch sizes

Interphex New York: Single Use Support is hunting the Cryosaucer!

Single Use Support is hunting the Cryo-Saurus

In den letzten Jahren hat das Unternehmen „Single Use Support“ den BULK.STREAM® – einen nahezu 100% sicheren Flüssig-Logistik Prozess für die Biopharma entwickelt. Vom 2. bis zum 4. April werden die neuen Innovationen auf der Interphex- Messe in New York vorgestellt. Der Fokus ist dabei vor allem auf die von Single Use Support entwickelte Freeze Thaw Technologie gerichtet.

Single Use Support hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht die Patientensicherheit sowie die Effizienz in der Biopharmaindustrie mit ihrem Bulk.Stream® auf ein neues Level zu heben. Aus diesem Grund wurden unter anderem eigene plattenbasierte Gefrier- und Auftauanlagen für Stabilitätsstudien und kleine bis große Batch-Größen entwickelt.

Mit RoSS.pFTU blockbuster scale wird ein weiterer Meilenstein für die Biopharma gesetzt. Die Freeze Thaw Plattform befindet sich gerade in der Entwicklungs-Endphase und soll den Cryovessel, der für sehr große Batch-Größen verwendet wird, als single-use Variante ersetzen.

 

Mehr dazu hier

 

Ziel ist es sowohl eine höhere Sicherheit beim Gefrierprozess zu erreichen, sowie ein konstantes Gefrieren von hochwertigen Substanzen in noch kürzerer Zeit zu ermöglichen.

CEO Johannes Kirchmair erklärt auf der Interphex, warum die Vorteile der FREEZE-THAW PLATFORM deutlich überwiegen.

Hier finden Sie das ganze Programm.

Single Use Support präsentiert sich auf der Interphex Messe

 

Alle Vorteile der Freeze-Thaw Plattform im Überblick:

 

  • Mit den Gefrier- und Auftauplattformen von Single User Support erfolgt ein direkter Energie- bzw. Wärmeeintrag. Das bedeutet, es ist keine dazwischen liegende Luft vorhanden, welche die Wärme schlecht überträgt.
  • Der Wärmeeintrag erfolgt gleichzeitig von oben und unten. So befindet sich der “Last Point of Freeze” an den Rändern der Symmetrieachse. Der Einschluss eines flüssigen Kerns, welcher zum Aufplatzen der Schale führt, wird dadurch verhindert.
  • Der Freeze Thaw Prozess wird durch eine Schrank- oder Teilbefüllung der Bags sowie eine Stapelung nicht beeinflusst. So kann der Prozess besser geregelt werden.
  • Aufgrund der gleichbleibenden Wassersäule ist eine bessere Skalierbarkeit des Prozesses möglich.
  • Der Plattengefrierer ermöglicht zusätzlich eine Teilbefüllung mit gleichbleibender Wassersäule.
  • Geringere Scherkräfte reduzieren den mechanischen Stress für das Protein.

Mit der Freeze Thaw Plattform wird also ein konstantes Gefrieren von biopharmazeutischen Substanzen in kürzester Zeit möglich.

 

Ross.LSSP die große Gefrierplattform für Single Use

 

Welche Vorteile bringt das schnelle „Schockfrieren“ gegenüber langsamem Gefrieren?

 

Aufgrund des Abkühlens von Substanzen kommt es zu Veränderungen der Flüssigkeitskonzentration. Unter der Cryokonzentration wird die Konzentrationserhöhung von (Puffer-) Salzen und Proteinen, aufgrund der Abkühlung verstanden. Dieser Cryokonzentrationseffekt wird durch das schnelle Einfrieren von Substanzen wesentlich verringert.

Durch das schnelle Gefrieren wird außerdem der pH-Shift verringert. Das bedeutet,dass sich der pH-Wert in der Lösung durch eine schnelle Abkühlung weniger verändert, als bei einem langsamen Gefrieren.

Ein schnellerer Gefrierprozess verhindert zudem die Aggregation der Proteine. Dabei schließen sich einzelne Proteine zu größeren Proteinen zusammen. Die Struktur des Proteins verändert sich und es verliert seine Wirksamkeit. Durch das Schockfrieren wird dieser Effekt deutlich verringert.

Das Protein ist außerdem Temperaturextremen und somit Stress für einen kürzeren Zeitraum ausgesetzt. Die Gefahr einer Zerstörung des Proteins wird somit minimalisiert. Stress kann durch eine Änderung des pH-Werts, mechanische Einwirkung z.B. Schütteln, eine hohe Salzkonzentration, Temperatur, oder chemische Reaktionen hervorgerufen werden. Das Ziel ist es, den Stress für das Protein während des Einfrierens und Auftauens möglichst gering zu halten.