FREEZE-THAW PLATFORM / FREEZE & THAW

Freeze & thaw process on a new level.

 

The plate-based freezing and defrosting facilities RoSS.pFTU by Single Use Support is continuously developing and establishing on the biopharmaceutical industry due to its convincing advantages in scalability, single use bag independence, proven product stability and freezing performance in speed and accuracy.

Safety and constant freezing of high-quality substances in an even shorter timeframe will be pushed to a new level – a further milestone for the biopharma manufacturers.

The scalable solutions for freezing and thawing ranges from the RoSS.pFTU lab scale to RoSS.pFTU large scale.
RoSS.pFTU blockbuster aspires to replace CryoVessels, which are used for very large batch sizes, in the single use variant. Its development is currently in its final stage.

Find datasheets for all RoSS.pFTU sizes in the download area.

 

3 liters / pre-clinical or Phase 1/2

150 liters / Phase 2/3 or commercialized

300 liters / commercialized

We tried to visualize Cryoconcentration by using Naphthol Blue Black as color agent. An in- tense blue coloration shows a high concentration of dissolved solutions. The bags frozen in the plate freezer exhibit a homogenous tinge with a white line running through the center. The bag frozen in the static freezer exhibits higher concentration levels in the lower areas.

blast freezer
“slow freezing”

Dark blue spots indicate a higher croyconcentration.

plate freezer
“fast freezing”

A homogeneous freezing image can be seen, no dark blue spots are visible.



?

We see issues with integrity of Single Use Systems in the biopharma world. Potentially, the MITS.2D technology is able to help address Endotoxin and Bioburden issues properly. Sterility is key for some applications very close to the patient in Fill and Finish facilities. Midterm, MITS.2D might be able to mitigate the risk of biocontamination in these process steps also.

FDA

FDA authority, USA

We were looking for a solid shipping solution for our single use bags. None of the available solutions to date offered reassuring solutions.
Thanks to a fortunate coincidence we got in touch with SUSupport. Not only have we found a more than solid solution for our main problem thanks to their product RoSS® but we now have access to a clever and 100% safe drug substance logistics system.

Program Manager

Lonza AG, Basel

We were analyzing different solutions on the market for freezing and thawing our drug substances in single-use bags.
The combination of a bag agnostic robust secondary packaging RoSS and the scalable plate based freeze/thaw technologies convinced us to select Single Use Support.
It not only matches all our requirements, it is also safe, easy to navigate and flexible to single-use bags from any supplier.
Furthermore, it is a good starting point to expand to a whole end-to-end solution.

Program Manager

3S Bio
Download

Click here to download technical product datasheets.



Freeze/Thaw Platform: The perfect single use solution for freeze&thaw processes

Throughout the various clinical phases, the batch sizes for drug substances are getting progressively bigger. While the initial volumes may be double-digit and less, they will grow to several hundred and finally some thousand liters.

Would this not be reason enough to use a flexible freeze-thaw technology for all phases that is compatible with any established single use bag?

At Single Use Support we have found the perfect solution: Our new freeze-thaw platforms make insular solutions for the freeze/thaw processes of each clinical phase. Our new freeze-thaw units are fully scalable and compatible with all batch sizes and bags from all established manufacturers - you will only require one single system from the lab to blockbuster production.

In other words, you will only require one single technology all the way from preclinical phases to the final production of blockbusters, namely, the freeze/thaw platform developed by Single Use Support. It offers you the advantage of not having to commit to a specific bag and not having to change the system when entering the next phase.

What are other advantages of the Single Use Support freeze-thaw platform?

The freeze-thaw units developed by us allow you to freeze and thaw drug substances in the shortest time possible. High-quality liquids are not only frozen much quicker but also more constantly in order to maintain their nature.

The advantages at a glance:

• compatible with all single use bags of established manufacturers
• fully scalable
• one system for all clinical phases as well as blockbuster production
• fast and constant freezing
• high degree of patient safety

For preclinical studies and small batches, we have developed RoSS.pFT, a compact freeze-thaw unit for small volumes of liquid as well as CGT and BDS tests. It is compatible with all established bags, thus allowing full scalability.

RoSS.pFTU is our “standard" freeze-thaw platform. It is suitable for different batch sizes and offers a fully scalable solution for medium-sized and large  batch volumes. The platform is the perfect freeze & thaw single use option as it is compatible with single use bags from all established manufacturers as well as with different sizes and volumes.

RoSS.LSSP is our large freeze and thaw unit for "bulk drug substance" of up to 300 L in a single unit. This freeze&thaw platform for large batch sizes will soon replace the Cryovessel as the option of choice for single-use containers.

FREEZE-THAW PLATFORM / FREEZE & THAW

Freeze – Gefrierprozess im Bulk.

Die plattenbasierte Gefrier- und Abtauanlage RoSS.pFTU von Single Use Support entwickelt sich kontinuierlich weiter und etabliert sich in der biopharmazeutischen Industrie aufgrund ihrer überzeugenden Vorteile in Bezug auf Skalierbarkeit, Unabhängigkeit von Einwegbeuteln, nachgewiesene Produktstabilität und Gefrierleistung in Bezug auf Geschwindigkeit und Genauigkeit.

Die Sicherheit und das ständige Einfrieren hochwertiger Substanzen in noch kürzerer Zeit werden auf ein neues Niveau gebracht - ein weiterer Meilenstein für die Biopharma-Hersteller.

Die skalierbaren Lösungen zum Einfrieren und Auftauen reichen vom RoSS.pFTU-Lab Scale bis zum RoSS.pFTU-Large Scale.
Der Blockbuster RoSS.pFTU strebt an, CryoVessels, die für sehr große Chargen verwendet werden, in der Einwegvariante zu ersetzen. Die Entwicklung befindet sich derzeit in der Endphase.

Im Download-Bereich finden Sie Datenblätter für alle RoSS.pFTU-Größen.

3 Liter, vorklinische Phase oder Phase 1/2

150 Liter / Phase 2/3 oder kommerzialisiert

300 Liter / kommerzialisiert

Wir haben versucht, die Kryokonzentration mit Naphthol Blue Black als Farbmittel zu visualisieren. Eine intensive Blaufärbung zeigt eine hohe Konzentration gelöster Proteine. Die im Plattengefrierer eingefrorenen Beutel weisen einen homogenen Farbton auf, durch dessen Mitte eine weiße Linie verläuft. Der im statischen Gefrierschrank gefrorene Beutel weist in den unteren Bereichen höhere Kryokonzentrationen auf.

Gefrierschrank
“langsames Frieren”

Dunkelblaue Stellen indizieren eine höhere Konzentration.

Plattenfrierer
“schnelles Frieren”

Bei einem homogenen Gefrierbild sind keine dunkelblauen Flecken sichtbar.



?

Wir sehen eine gewisse Problematik hinsichtlich der Integrität von Einwegsystemen in der biopharmazeutischen Industrie. Die MITS.2D-Technologie könnte hier der richtige Ansatz sein, um Probleme mit Endotoxinen und Biokeimen anzugehen. Sterilität ist einer der wichtigsten Faktoren bei gewissen patientennahen Anwendungen in Befüllungs- und Fertigungsanlagen und mittelfristig könnte MITS.2D die Gefahr von Biokontamination während dieser Prozessschritte abschwächen.

FDA

FDA authority, USA

Wir waren auf der Suche nach einer sicheren Transport-Lösung für unsere Single Use Bags. Alle bisher auf dem Markt verfügbaren Produkte lieferten aus unserer Sicht keine beruhigenden Ergebnisse.
Durch einen glücklichen Zufall entstand der Kontakt zu SUSupport. Mit ihrer Entwicklung RoSS® haben wir nicht nur eine mehr als solide Lösung unseres Kernproblems erreicht - wir haben jetzt über SUSupport Zugriff auf ein cleveres und vor allem 100% sicheres Drug Substance Logistik System!

Lonza

Program Manager

Lonza AG, Basel

Wir analysierten verschiedene Lösungen auf dem Markt zum Einfrieren und Auftauen unserer Arzneimittelsubstanzen in Einwegbeuteln.
Die Kombination einer beutelunabhängigen, robusten Sekundärverpackung RoSS und der skalierbaren plattenbasierten Gefrier- / Auftautechnologie überzeugte uns, Single Use Support zu wählen.
Es erfüllt nicht nur alle unsere Anforderungen, es ist auch sicher, einfach zu navigieren und flexibel für Einwegbeutel von jedem Lieferanten.
Darüber hinaus ist es ein guter Ausgangspunkt, um zu einer vollständigen End-to-End-Lösung zu expandieren.

Program Manager

3S Bio
Download

Hier können Sie sich mit einem Klick technische Produktdatenblätter zur FREEZE-THAW-PLATFORM mit einem Klick an ihre E-Mail Adresse senden lassen.



Freeze/Thaw Platform: Die perfekte Single Use Lösung für den Freeze&Thaw Prozess

Im Laufe der einzelnen klinischen Phasen werden die Batch-Größen der drug substance immer größer. Zu Beginn sind es wahrscheinlich nur Mengen im zweistelligen Bereich, später mehrere Hundert Liter und irgendwann arbeiten Sie vielleicht mit tausenden von Litern an Flüssigkeit.

Wäre es dann nicht sinnvoll ein eine flexible Single Use Bag agnostic freeze-thaw Technologie für alle Phasen zu verwenden?

Wir von Single Use Support haben die perfekte Lösung gefunden: Mit unseren neuen Freeze-Thaw-Plattformen gehören Insel Lösungen für den Freeze/Thaw Prozess in jeder einzelnen klinischen Phase der Vergangenheit an. Unsere neuen Freeze-Thaw-Einheiten sind maximal skalierbar und kompatibel für alle Batch Größen und Hersteller in jeder Phase - vom Labor bis hin zur Herstellung Blockbustern mit nur einem einziges System.

Das bedeutet: Von der vorklinischen Studie, über die einzelnen Phasen hinweg bis zur Herstellung von Blockbustern brauchen Sie nur eine einzige Technologie - Die Freeze/Thaw Plattform von Single Use Support. Das hat vor allem den Vorteil, dass Sie Bag-unabhängig arbeiten können und beim Übergang zwischen den einzelnen Phasen nicht auf ein neues System umsteigen müssen.

Was spricht noch für die Freeze-Thaw Plattform von Single Use Support?

Mit den von uns entwickelten Freeze Thaw Einheiten ist da Einfrieren und Auftauen von drug substances in kürzester Zeit möglich. Hochwertige Flüssigkeiten werden aber nicht nur schneller sondern auch konstant gefroren, um die Beschaffenheit der Flüssigkeit so gut wie möglich zu erhalten.

Die Vorteile unserer Freeze/Thaw Platform auf einen Blick:

• kompatibel mit allen Single Use Bags gängiger Hersteller
• maximal skalierbar (von Lab- bis Blockbuster-Level)
• eine System für alle klinischen Phasen die Herstellung von Blockbustern
• schnelles und konstantes Gefrieren
• hohes Maß an Patientensicherheit

Für vorklinische Studien und Kleinmengen haben wir RoSS.pFTU lab und small scale entwickelt. Eine kompakte Gefrier- und Taueinheit für kleine Flüssigkeitsmengen sowie CGT und BDS Tests. Sie ist mit allen im Handel erhältlichen Bags kompatibel, was 100% Skalierbarkeit verspricht.

RoSS.pFTU large scale ist unsere "Standard" Freeze-Thaw Plattform. Sie eignet sich für unterschiedliche Losgrößen und bietet eine optimal skalierbare Lösung für mittelgroße und große Batch Mengen. Die Plattform ist die perfekte Freeze & Thaw Single Use Variante, weil sie mit Single Use Bags sämtlicher Hersteller mit unterschiedlichen Volumen kompatibel ist.

RoSS.pFTU blockbuster scale ist die große Gefrier-, und Taueinheit für "bulk drug substance" mit bis zu 300l in nur einer Einheit. Die Freeze-Thaw Plattform für sehr große Batch-Größen wird den Cryovessel schon bald als Single Use Variante ersetzen.