Employing Single-Use Technology to Control Frozen Bulk Drug Storage – White paper

white-paper-single-use-technology

In cooperation with Single Use Support and Biogen, Entegris has published a new white paper concerning the employment of single-use technology to control frozen bulk drug storage.

Download now

Single Use Support advocates the use of one-way systems in the production of biopharmaceuticals as well as cell- and gene therapies. We close the gap between downstream and the fill & finish process. On the basis of single-use bags we offer manufacturers of biopharmaceuticals access to a new and 100% reliable logistics process for liquids. Our technologies increase patient safety while at the same time minimizing the risk of biocontamination and product loss to 0%. It is our mission to push patient safety to the highest possible level by optimizing single-use technology for the biopharma industry.

Development and production requirements for biopharmaceuticals

Newly developed biopharmaceuticals that are constantly improving and potentially life-saving can be very profitable for their developers. However, R&D is cost-intensive and requires major investments, which is why reliable and cost-effective storage and logistics of frozen drug substances play a decisive role.

This is especially true in terms of the transition from R&D through clinical trial to high-volume production. The minimization of capital and operating expenses as well as the reduction of storage space and of time and energy spent on cleaning and sterilization are important objectives when choosing a new storage and logistics solution. At the same time, the valuable drugs have to be protected from cross-contamination and other sources of contamination.

Compared to traditional systems, single-use systems have considerable advantages

Traditionally, bottles and stainless-steel Cryo vessels are used for storage and shipment of frozen biopharmaceutical bulk drug substances. While both of these containers have their strengths, they also have their deficiencies: Bottles are bulky and non-scalable; they can slow freezing and thawing. Systems based on Cryo vessels are expensive and increase the complexity of cleaning processes as well as the containers’ reusability. This is why manufacturers of biopharmaceuticals are increasingly introducing single-use systems. Single-use systems exhibit a higher degree of scalability and allow for a controlled freezing and thawing process. Plus, they do not require any time-consuming returning and reutilization processes.

The last 15 years have seen an increased implementation of single-use technologies to successfully deal with critical process challenges when manufacturing drug substances designated for the international market. An improved production process spanning several production sites, reduced cleanroom floor space, improved process economics/plant flexibility and reduced Clean-in-Place (CIP) and Steam-in-Place (SIP) processes are just some of the advantages associated with the implementation of single-use technologies.

White paper concerning the implementation of single-use systems in the biopharmaceutical industry

The implementation of single-use systems poses certain challenges that need to be overcome in order to fully exploit the technology’s advantages. The white paper “Employing Single-Use Technology to Control Frozen Bulk Drug Storage” addresses challenges in terms of storage, logistics and other critical factors that manufacturers have to consider in deciding whether and how to adopt single-use technologies. The paper deals with material requirements as well as requirements concerning the filling-, freezing-, storage-, logistics- and thawing processes. Finally, the paper also introduces and discusses specific options for the one-way storage of pharmaceuticals.

Employing Single-Use Technology to Control Frozen Bulk Drug Storage – White paper

white-paper-single-use-technology

In Kooperation mit Single Use Support und Biogen hat Entegris ein neues Whitepaper über den Einsatz von Single-Use-Technologie zur Kontrolle der Lagerung von gefrorenen biopharmazeutischen Flüssigkeiten herausgebracht.

Zum Download

Single Use Support unterstützt Einwegsysteme für die Biopharma und die Zell- und Genherstellung. Wir schließen die Lücke zwischen Downstream und Fill & Finish in der Biopharma-Industrie. Auf Basis von Einwegbeuteln bieten wir Biopharma-Unternehmen den Zugang zu einem neuen und 100% sicheren Logistikprozess für Flüssigkeiten. Die von uns entwickelten Technologien erhöhen die Patientensicherheit und minimieren das Risiko von Biokontaminationen und Produktverlusten auf 0%. Unsere Mission ist es, die Patientensicherheit durch die Optimierung der Einwegtechnologie in der Biopharma auf höchstem technischen Niveau zu erhöhen.

Anforderungen an die Entwicklung und Produktion von Biopharmazeutika

Neue biopharmazeutische Arzneimittel, die ständig verbessert werden und sogar Leben retten, können für ihre Entwickler sehr profitabel sein. Ihre Entwicklung ist jedoch kostspielig und stellt eine erhebliche Investition dar. Aus diesem Grund sind die sichere und kostengünstige Lagerung und der Transport von tiefgekühlten biopharmazeutischen Substanzen von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Insbesondere im Hinblick auf den Übergang der Arzneimittel von Forschung und Entwicklung über klinische Studien bis hin zu einer Produktion in höheren Stückzahlen. Zu den Zielen bei der Auswahl einer neuen Lager- bzw. Transportmethode gehören deshalb die Minimierung der Kapital- und Betriebskosten, die Reduzierung des Platzbedarfs sowie die Reduzierung von Zeit und Energie für Reinigungs- und Sterilisationsprozesse. Gleichzeitig muss das wertvolle Produkt vor Kreuzkontamination oder anderen Kontaminationsquellen geschützt werden.

Single Use Systeme haben beträchtliche Vorteile gegenüber herkömmlichen Systemen

Traditionell werden in der Biopharma für die Lagerung und den Transport tiefgekühlter Substanzen Flaschen und Kryo-Gefäße aus Edelstahl verwendet. Beide haben jedoch neben ihren Vorteilen auch erhebliche Mängel. Flaschen sind sperrig, nicht skalierbar und können das Einfrieren und Auftauen verlangsamen. Ein System von Kryo-Gefäßen ist teuer und erhöht die Komplexität bei der Reinigung und Wiederverwendung von Gefäßen. Aus diesen Gründen setzen Biopharma-Hersteller vermehrt ein Single Use Systeme ein. Single Use Systeme haben viele Vorteilen wie ein höheres Maß an Skalierbarkeit und ermöglichen ein kontrolliertes Einfrieren und Auftauen. Außerdem wird das Verwalten der Rückgabe und Wiederverwendung von Behältern hinfällig.

In den letzten 15 Jahren wurden vermehrt Einwegtechnologien eingesetzt, um kritische Prozessherausforderungen zu lösen und in einer international sicher zu produzieren. Die Vorteile der Implementierung von Einwegtechnologien umfassen unter anderem eine Verbesserung der Produktion über mehrere Standorte hinweg, Reduzierung des Platzbedarfs in Reinräumen, Verbesserung der Prozessökonomie/Anlagenflexibilität und Reduzierung von Clean-in-Place (CIP) und Steam-in-Place (SIP) Vorgängen.

Whitepaper zur Einführung von Single Use Systemen in der Biopharma

Die Einführung von Einwegsystemen birgt aber eigene Herausforderungen, die bewältigt werden müssen, um die Vorteile der Technologie voll auszuschöpfen. Das White Paper “Employing Single-Use Technology to Control Frozen Bulk Drug Storage” befasst sich mit den Herausforderungen der Lagerung, des Transports und anderer kritischer Faktoren, die Benutzer bei der Entscheidung, ob und wie sie die Single Use Technologie anwenden, berücksichtigen müssen. Es befasst sich mit Materialanforderungen und den Anforderungen an den Füll-, Gefrier-, Lager-, Transport- und Auftauprozess, die Einwegverpackungen erfüllen müssen. Schließlich werden spezielle Optionen für die Einweglagerung von Arzneimitteln vorgestellt.