SEED.STREAM

NEXT Generation Cell Culture Intensification: Taking the shortcut in biopharma upstream manufacturing process!

SEED.STREAM by Single Use Support describes the next generation of cell culture intensification - the process of how to intensify the inoculation and seed train in the so-called Upstream of biopharmaceutical manufacturers at any scale by means of technologies by Single Use Support. This process includes end-to-end qualification during filling, freezing, thawing and draining of drug substance.

At the very early stage of biopharma drug substance manufacturing, the cell banking during upstream, cells are being nurtured from 1 ml to more than 2000 liters within approx. 5 weeks. There are many potential pitfalls in terms of sterility and appropriate cell perfusion when it comes to growing cell lines to their full potential.
Seed train intensification is a way to circumvent the continuous “back to start” with 1 ml and to benefit from the already expanded cells into bioreactors.

 

More than 60% time savings -> start at 5 instead of at 0, every time.
Reduce contamination potential -> close your cell seeding into cryobags.
Be room independent -> distribute seed train intermediates to decentralized global production facilities.

 

And this is where the SEED.STREAM, the next generation of seed train intensification, comes into play.

The very fragile cells need advanced automation, process control and high cell density cryopreservation in order to

  • secure sterility by process in a closed system
  • avoid manual handling
  • reduce environmental requirements at the manufacturing site
  • accelerate the speed of production
  • simplify the operation in-plant and
  • save huge operation costs during repetitive upstream

If you want to be on the safe side when growing a beautiful flower, you’d also rather plant seedlings instead of casting seeds.

MANUFACTURER CELL BANK
SEED TRAIN

Seed train intensification for upstream process - SEED.STREAM the next generation

The term seed train intensification describes the upstream process of cell culture intensification in order to generate an adequate number of cells for the inoculation of a production bioreactor. This procedure takes place during the upstream process at the very beginning of biopharma drug substance manufacturing. Within approx. 5 weeks, cells are being nurtured from 1 ml to the required amount, which can reach more than 2,000 liters.

Lean production principles applied to seed train intensification for upstream process

Cells are a highly fragile matter that requires automated and controlled handling during the entire seed train intensification for upstream process in order to guarantee optimum results. SEED.STREAM by Single Use Support is based on lean production principles and utilizes single-use components to generate a closed process with the advantages of

  • avoiding manual handling
  • securing sterility
  • accelerating production speed
  • increasing output
  • simplifying in-plant operation
  • reducing costs and environmental requirements

Flexible and scalable seed train intensification on the basis of single-use technologies

Additionally, thanks to the flexible nature of single-use technology components, if you employ SEED.STREAM for your seed train intensification, you can cultivate any given volume of cells.

SEED.STREAM process by Single Use Support is scalable in both directions – it allows you to cater to your exact needs– no more and no less. As opposed to traditional methods that are based on large stainless-steel Cryovessels, this advanced system utilizes multiple single-use bags for the process of cell culture intensification. With volumes ranging from 10 ml to 20 l each, this approach allows for the highest possible level of flexibility and scalability and can be used all the way from the lab to blockbuster production.

A holistic and comprehensive platform for the entire seed train intensification for upstream processes

SEED.STREAM is an integrable, holistic platform that covers the entire seed train intensification for upstream processes all the way from protected cultivation in single-use bags to fully automated filling and freezing, refrigerated transport, thawing and emptying of the bags at their final destination. It is a closed, yet highly flexible, system that guarantees sterility by eliminating manual handling as far as possible.

If you want to be on the safe side when growing your cell cultures, be it for clinical studies or in bigger volumes for blockbuster production, SEED.STREAM is the way forward.

SEED.STREAM

NEXT Generation der Intensivierung von Zellkulturen: Eine Abkürzung im biopharmazeutischen Upstream-Prozess!

SEED.STREAM von Single Use Support beschreibt die nächste Generation der Zellkulturenintensivierung – in anderen Worten, den Prozess zur Steigerung der Inokulation und des Seed Train im sogenannten Upstream während des biopharmazeutischen Fertigungsprozesses jeglichen Umfangs – durch von Single Use Support entwickelte Technologien.

Während des Upstreams, der ganz zu Beginn des Fertigungsprozesses für biopharmazeutische Präparate steht, werden Zellen innerhalb von rund 5 Wochen von 1 ml auf 2000 L Umfang hochgezüchtet. Wenn es um die Ausschöpfung des vollen Potenzials in Sachen Zellwachstum geht, gibt es zahlreiche Tücken und mögliche Stolpersteine hinsichtlich Sterilität und angemessener Zellperfusion zu beachten.

Die Intensivierung des Seed Train stellt eine Möglichkeit dar, das wiederholte „Zurück auf null“ mit 1 ml zu umgehen und stattdessen von den bereits erweiterten Zellen in Bioreaktoren während dem Befüllen, Frieren, Auftauen und Entleeren von Arzneistoffen zu profitieren.

Und genau hier setzt SEED.STREAM, die nächste Generation der Intensivierung des Seed Train, an.

Die äußerst empfindlichen Zellen erfordern fortschrittliche automatisierte und reglementierte Prozesse sowie eine hohe Kryokonservierung bei hoher Zelldichte, um

  • die Sterilität bei Prozessen in einem geschlossenen System sicherzustellen,
  • manuelles Handling zu vermeiden;
  • umweltschutztechnische Anforderungen am Produktionsort zu reduzieren,
  • die Produktionsgeschwindigkeit zu erhöhen,
  • die Bedienung vor Ort zu vereinfachen und
  • Betriebskosten während eines sich wiederholenden Upstream-Prozesses einzusparen.

Wenn Sie eine schöne Blumen züchten wollen, verwenden Sie schlussendlich auch Setzlinge, anstatt einfach Samen auszuwerfen.

MANUFACTURER CELL BANK
SEED TRAIN

Seed Train Intensification - SEED.STREAM die nächste Generation der Intensivierung von Zellkulturen

Der Begriff Seed Train Intensification beschreibt den Prozess der Intensivierung von Zellkulturen, um eine angemessene Anzahl von Zellen zur Inokulation von Bioreaktoren für die Produktion zu züchten. Diese Prozedur findet während des Upstream-Prozesses statt, der ganz am Anfang der biopharmazeutischen Fertigung steht. In rund 5 Wochen werden die Zellen von 1 ml auf die erforderliche Menge, die 2.000 Liter und mehr betragen kann, hochgezüchtet.

Lean-Production-Prinzipien auf die Seed Train Intensification übertragen

Zellen sind eine äußerst empfindliche Materie, die während des gesamten Seed Train Intensification Prozesses mit größter Sorgfalt – am besten automatisiert – und unter stetiger Kontrolle gehandhabt werden muss, um optimale Ergebnisse liefern zu können. SEED.STREAM von Single Use Support basiert auf dem Grundsatz der Lean Production und bedient sich dabei an Single-Use-Komponenten, um einen geschlossenen Prozess mit den folgenden Vorteilen zu schaffen:

  • Umgehen manuellen Handlings
  • Sicherstellen der Sterilität
  • Erhöhen der Produktionsgeschwindigkeit
  • Steigern des Ertrags
  • Vereinfachung der Bedienung vor Ort
  • Reduktion der Kosten sowie der umweltschutztechnischen Anforderungen

Flexible und skalierbare Seed Train Intensification auf Grundlage von Single-Use-Technologien

Dank der flexiblen Natur von Single-Use-Komponenten ist es mit SEED.STREAM außerdem möglich, im Zuge der Seed Train Intensification jegliches erforderliche Volumen an Zellen zu kultivieren.

Der SEED.STREAM Prozess von Single Use Support ist in beide Richtungen skalierbar und passt sich an den jeweiligen Bedarf an – nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Im Gegensatz zu traditionellen Methoden, die auf großen Cryovesseln aus Edelstahl basieren, verwendet dieses fortschrittliche System einzelne Single-Use-Bags für die Intensivierung von Zellkulturen. Mit Volumen von 10 ml bis 20 l je Beutel ermöglicht dieser Ansatz die größtmögliche Flexibilität und Skalierbarkeit und eignet sich daher für die gesamte Bandbreite vom Labor bis zur Blockbuster-Produktion.

Eine ganzheitliche und umfassende Plattform für den gesamten Prozess der Seed Train Intensification

SEED.STREAM ist eine integrierbare und ganzheitliche Plattform, die den gesamten Prozess der Seed Train Intensification abdeckt und zwar angefangen bei der geschützten Kultivierung in Single-Use-Bags über das vollständig automatisierte Filling und Freezing sowie den Transport im gefrorenen Zustand bis zum Thawing und dem Entleeren der Beutel am Bestimmungsort. Es ist ein geschlossenes und dabei dennoch äußerst flexibles System, das die Sterilität nicht zuletzt durch das Umgehen manueller Bedienschritte sicherstellt.

Wenn Sie in Sachen Zellwachstum – egal, ob für klinische Studien oder die Produktion von Blockbustern – auf Nummer sicher gehen wollen, dann liegen Sie mit SEED.STREAM genau richtig.